One Word


Today is day 1 of Reverb10 , a month-long writing project to reflect on this year and plan for the year to come. It’s a writing project I’ve learned about through Twitter and decided to take on to improve my own work.

Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

2010 has been a REVEALING year. On all levels.

I’m the kind of person who holds my friendships close to my heart–no matter what happens in them. This year revealed who I should hold on to even tighter and who I should let go of. It made me realize how amazing and long lasting certain friendships are , even though I may have not seen these friends for several years due to circumstance. We are always able to come back to exactly where we left off.It made me understand who’s truly there, regardless if the support and guidance was from a complete stranger or a long time friend.

This year I also was able to take a trip to India to visit my extended family—a trip I hadn’t made in seven years for the sake of school or work. A trip that I am so glad I did not put off for another year. Among other perks, I was able to attend a cousin’s wedding, celebrate my birthday with family members I usually get less time with, visit my roots,  and spend time with my grandfather for what would be the last few months of his life.

Another not-so-obvious revelation this year was the power of karma. I always believe in being good and doing good, and things will fall into place as they are meant to. This year karma illustrated itself so well in many stories–sometimes in a good way and sometimes in bad. Hopefully the good karma and fortune will continue into 2011 and ahead.

That being said, I hope 2011 in encapsulated in the word ABUNDANCE .

In 2011 I want to continue exercising my talents, interests, and strengths to positively improve the lives of others, even more than I have been able to in previous years.  I want to do more, say more, love more, experience more, rejoice more…just everything. Well, I may not be able to do everything , but you get the idea. I want to release any unreasonable or unnecessary limits I previously set and bask in the rewards of doing so.

Have something to say? Let's hear it!

