The unnecessary 11

photo credit - greenchartreuse

As the year is winding down I’ve been reflecting on this year and thinking towards the next one. It’s day 11 of Reverb10 What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life?

Television

Since August 2010 I have lived without watching tv. My roommates and I stopped our cable ( due  to the ridiculous price raise) and I absolutely love it. I have more time for everything and I’ve spent those  cable bill funds on other more necessary and fulfilling purchases. I’ve spent that extra time on reading, writing this blog, and pursuing my interests. I plan to continue the “no tv” cycle in 2011.

Sweets/junk food

When it comes to my health, I am a fanatic ( who else will be for me, right). Currently,  I eat healthy, cut out any processed and junk foods, do exercise, do yoga, don’t drink, don’t smoke, the works. The one thing I cannot seem to delete from my life is the (every now and then) consumption of sweets. I’m working on it. In 2011 I would like to completely limit the sugary goodness ( cakes, cookies, and chocolate) to maybe once a month or less ( because who am I kidding, I do have a sweet tooth that needs to be pleased–just less often now)

Lack of sleep and caffeine

When I go to sleep, my mind is still racing–about things that happened that day, things people said, etc. This year I’ve realized that 6 to 7 hours of sleep just isn’t cutting it for me. With only that little, I’m moody and can’t perform my best.  As a result, I turn to coffee.  Not only does this take a toll on my wallet, but more importantly on my body too.  I’m slowly learning how to best clear my mind when I sleep, and hope for 2011 I can be on a consistent sleep cycle and completely cut out caffeine.

Drama

I don’t want to hear it. He said, she said.Whatever. It does not matter to me. Please don’t tell me. Just tell me the good things that happen. I’ve always believed in absorbing the good and leaving out the bad and I will always continue that frame of mind.

Negativity

See # 4.

Clutter

I am a neat freak. During the course of one year, I allow myself to de-clutter my life many times. This ranges from getting rid of clothes I don’t wear anymore to disposing any paperwork or items that I no longer have use for to just taking time out for myself to clear my mind. Sometimes it’s very easy to hold on to things, material or otherwise, even if they have no current use. At that point you must ask yourself, “Do I really need this in my life, or, is this helping me progress in any way?” If the answer is easily no, then you know you must let go of it.  Keeping things current and organized is a great way to de-clutter and figure out what you really need. For example, I rummage through my clothing, and the things I don’t use, I donate. If I am done using them, then perhaps they will come of use to someone else. One wo(man’s ) trash might be  another wo(man’s) treasure. For 2011 I would like to continue this to make sure that I live with minimalist needs.

Frivolous Spending

The Starbucks treats every now and then and Dunkin Donuts Hazelnut/French Vanilla coffee craze needs to stop now.Period. A few dollars here and there adds up and I know I have better goals to spend that hard earned money on.

Shyness

I am generally a shy person. It takes me a long time to open up to people — well I guess it depends. Some people I can open up with on the spot, others it takes a longer time.   In 2011 I don’t want to let that shyness prevent me from establishing more and better relationships. Maybe it’s a fear of acceptance – who knows. I just need to remind myself that those who matter don’t mind and those who mind don’t matter.

Back pain

I’ve had back problems for a while, partially due to overdoing it when I exercise. In 2011 I want to learn how to better treat myself so that I don’t face so much injury in fitness.

Stress

In relations to everything I am learning how to better deal with stress this year – through yoga, exercise, and quiet time for myself. I want to continue these techniques so I can reduce the amount of stress I face in 2011.

Worry

During a large portion of 2010 I used to worry a lot. But then I learned that I could only do what was in my control, whatever was meant to happen, would. And I want to continue that belief in 2011 and not worry. Everything will happen as it should.

So there you have it, my 11 items. What are yours?


Have something to say? Let's hear it!

