Body Movin’, Body Movin’

“Ready, one.
You will do this four times with the left
Four with the right
Then eight times with both
Then repeat.”

Thank you Beastie Boys. And so begins today’s Reverb10 topic:

This year, when did you feel the most integrated with your body?

For all of July and August , I had been rigorously training on my own for my first 5k race. Running both on a treadmill and  on outdoor trails, I made sure I was in good shape, able to run the full distance several times before race day, and checked the actual site where I was to arrive on race day.

Fast forward to race day- September 25th, 2010. Early Saturday morning I arrived at the site, alongside hundreds of other women of all shapes and sizes, ready to run. As we took off for the course around 8:30 am, I decided to start at a faster pace and slow down later if needed. I convinced myself to run most of the race and walk only if needed. This is what made me feel like body and mind were working together. I kept telling myself positive confirmations that I could run faster and stronger and to keep going, and the rest of me kept going…all the way to the finish line, just a few minutes short of my goal. What a great feeling!

Ready, one.
You will do this four times with the left
Four with the right
Then eight times with both
Then repeat.
Have something to say? Let's hear it!

