Disney was right on.

It’s a world of laughter
A world of tears
It’s a world of hopes
And a world of fears
There’s so much that we share
That it’s time we’re aware
It’s a small world after all

It’s a small world after all
It’s a small world after all
It’s a small world after all
It’s a small, small world

Do you remember that song from your childhood?

I do.

Disney knew exactly what it was talking about. Never would I have thought that those rhymes and songs taught to us as children would still hold such powerful meanings to us as adults.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I am an avid reader. Yes ,  a nose in the books, absorb as much as I can, be a dork if I have to, cover to cover reader. One repetitive idea underlying all those nonfiction books is to get to know as many people/friends/coworkers/neighbors as possible. I’m not talking about the “Let’s do the formalities in knowing each other just for the sake of it- Hi How are you? Ok bye!” type.

I’m talking about really getting to know them for who they are, what you can offer them and  for what they have to offer.

I used to be a much more quieter and shy person than I am today, but in the last several years in the working world, that has completely changed.  I recently hit my four-year  “anniversary” in the working world and  took a little time to reflect on the people I’ve met and grown with throughout those years. One of the biggest things I’ve learned is that it really is important to put yourself out there.Let your worries, hopes, thoughts be known in the most appropriate way possible. Don’t be afraid and don’t hold back, because there are people who will listen and respond to you. No matter your age or your experience.  Networking in this way and making sure you maintain the friendships/relations you start is one of the best things you can do for yourself. So the next time you’re in the office/bookstore/coffee shop/grocery checkout line/wherever,  and you see that person you know, strike up a  good conversation–because you can learn a lot and it may benefit you more than you realize.

Take the risk. It is absolutely worth it.

Have something to say? Let's hear it!

